UA-Pulaski Tech to offer Real Estate course
The 16-week course requires 60 clock hours of classroom time. Classes will meet beginning Aug. 21 on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 6:30-8:40 p.m. on the college's Main Campus. Students who complete the course receive 4 college credit hours.
"With one class, you can begin a career," said Danny Been, principal instructor at Arkansas Real Estate School. "Whether you plan to have in a career in real estate or not, this course will give you good information about how to protect yourself in a real estate transaction."
Students can take the same 60-clock-hour course directly through the Arkansas Real Estate School in six 10-hour day classes. By taking the class at UA-PTC, students are able to use student financial aid.
"We're the only one in the state doing this," said Rebecca Sterling, interim dean of the college's Business Division, who is coordinating the program. "Eventually we want to build a program, not just a course. Our course is for people who work and need to come at night. It also gives students more time to digest the material covered."
The cost of the four-credit-hour course is about $830, which includes $520 tuition at $130 per credit hour. Additional expenses include the cost of a book, the background checks, and the $75 State Exam fee.
The course meets all requirements of the Arkansas Real Estate Commission.
Applicants must be at least 18, submit fingerprints and application to take the licensure exam with the Arkansas Real Estate Commission, and have an FBI and Arkansas State Police background check. By Arkansas law, anyone who has pleaded guilty or no contest to a felony will be denied licensure.
The state requires everyone who becomes licensed to take a Post-License Sales Agent Course with hands-on training within a year of becoming licensed. All agents must be affiliated with a licensed broker to legally deal in real estate in Arkansas.